Since 2014, the members of KiNSIS have been awarding the Diels-Planck-Medal to outstanding international scientists in the field of nano and surface sciences. During a festive ceremony, the award winner presents their research in the so-called Diels-Planck-Lecture. Each KiNSIS member can propose a candidate and all members cast their vote.


International Award from KiNSIS

The award is named after Nobel Prize winners Max Planck and Otto Diels, the founders of the Kiel nanosciences.

Max Planck was born in Kiel in 1858 and was appointed professor of theoretical physics by Kiel University in 1885. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1918 for his ground-breaking work on quantum theory. Otto Diels was professor of chemistry at Kiel University until his retirement in 1945. Together with his doctoral student Kurt Alder, he developed a class of chemical reactions that later became known as the 'Diels-Alder reaction'. It represents one of the most powerful methods for the synthesis of chemical compounds, including nanomaterials. Diels was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1950.


Diels-Planck-Lecture 2023 with Valeria Nicolosi

The winner of the Diels-Planck Medal 2023 is Valeria Nicolosi, Trinity College Dublin, School of Chemistry, CRANN Institute, AMBER and I-Form Centres, Dublin 2. Ireland. She will give the Diels-Planck Lecture entitled 'Processing and applications of two-dimensional nanosheet inks' during the KiNSIS symposium on 09 October 2023 at the Wissenschaftszentrum Kiel.


more about the diels-planck-lecture 2023

Eine Medaille im Bilderrahmen
© Sebastian Maas, Uni Kiel


Dr. Tina Kerby
KiNSIS Coordination
+49 431 880-6272


The next call is expected to be published at the end of 2023.
All KiNSIS members are welcome to submit proposals.