Kuratorium pro Universitate (University Board of Trustees)


Circle of supporters for Kiel University

The Kuratorium pro universitate on November 4, 2015
LTR in front: Prof. Dr. Ilka Parchmann (Vice president), Klaus-Hinrich Vater, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Miethke, Angelika Volquartz, Jürgen Hanemann. 2nd raw: Prof. Dr. Thorsten Grenz, Prof. Dr. Lutz Kipp (President), Wilhelm Tischendorf, Dr. Martin Skaruppe, Dr. Wolfgang Marx. 3rd raw: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Gabriel, Dirk Lindenau, Frank Eisoldt (Kanzler). © Uni Kiel, Foto: Christina Klodt


Personalities from politics, business and society who are close to Kiel University are appointed to the University Board of Trustees by the University Board for a term of five years.

The University Board of Trustees is a group that is closely related to the idea of a university in general and to the Kiel University in particular. The trustees shall strengthen Kiel University’s size and profile, provide advice and form alliances within the political arena and within society in order to promote it. With these objectives, the Board of Trustees is anchored in Section 19 of the University Constitution which was approved by the Senate on May 7, 2008.

On November 22, 2007 the Board of Trustees of Kiel University met for the first time. It has been chaired by Klaus Hinrich Vater, Managing Director of Vater Holding GmbH, President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Kiel and member of the Supervisory Board of Schleswig-Holstein Business Academy since May 19, 2014. Vater took over the chair from Professor Dr. Hans Heinrich Driftmann, personally liable partner and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Peter Köln plc., Chairman of the University Council of Kiel University.

Angelika Volquartz, former Mayor of the state capital Kiel is elected honorary chairwoman since May 19, 2014.

According to the basic rules of Kiel University, the members of the Board of Trustees are proposed by the University Board. They shall be appointed by the Senate for a term of five years. The number of members should not exceed 25. Membership of the Board of Trustees is bound to the person elected.

The Board of Trustees currently consists of 20 personalities.