Kiel University
You are here: HomeKiel UniversityHistoryAristotle

► zur deutschen Fassung

The return of Aristotle

Aristotle
Partial view of undamaged Aristotle, circa 1930 (photo: J. Weyh)
  The main entrance
The main entrance to the old university buildings, with the four statues of Plato, Solon, Hippocrates and Aristotle (left to right), circa 1930 (postcard)


BEFORE 1945, the larger than life-size limestone statue of Aristotle (384-322 BC), along with statues of Plato, Solon and Hippocrates, dominated the monumental steps leading up to the main entrance of the old Kiel University building in the Schlossgarten. These Greek scholars of antiquity, the fathers of all universal learning and humanist scholarship, represented the four faculties of the university.

THE STATUE of Aristotle is the work of the Berlin sculptor Carl Begas (1845-1916). The impressive main university building (architects: Martin Gropius and Heino Schmieden), which opened in 1876, together with the monumental sculptures unveiled in 1882, formed a clear statement of the new Prussian presence in Schleswig-Holstein.

DESTROYED BY BOMBS in World War II, the ruin of the university building was demolished and cleared away in 1954 and the heavily damaged sculptures were buried. The fragmented torso of the statue of Aristotle was rediscovered in 2005 and represents a particularly stark link between the upheavals of modern German history and the motto of the Christiana Albertina, which dates back to the university's foundation in 1665 and remains as fitting today as it was then: Pax optima rerum – Peace is the greatest good.

 

Restorers with the torso
Copyright: CAU, photo: Sandra Sieraad
  The torso in the foyer
Copyright: CAU, photo: Jurgen Haacks

THE STONE RESTORERS, Paul Hofmann (left) and Christoph Kronewirth (centre), who have also worked for the Pergamon Museum in Berlin, were responsible for erecting the 1.2-tonne torso in the foyer of the main lecture hall. Professor Uwe Albrecht from the Institute of Art History at Kiel University (right) oversaw the work. The restorer who reassembled the Aristotle fragments, Jochen Seebach from Emkendorf, was absent when the picture was taken.

The torso in the foyer

The torso in the foyer (Copyright: CAU, photo: Jurgen Haacks)



Responsible for this page: Press and Communication Services   ► presse@uv.uni-kiel.de

CAU - Universität Kiel
Sie sind hier: StartseiteUniversitätGeschichteAristoteles

► english version

Rückkehr des Aristoteles

Aristoteles
Teilansicht des Aristoteles im unzerstörten Zustand, um 1930
(Foto: J. Weyh)
  Hauptportal
Hauptportal des Kollegiengebäudes mit den vier Monumentalfiguren des Platon, Solon, Hippokrates und Aristoteles (v.l.n.r.), um 1930 (Postkarte)


DIE ÜBERLEBENSGROSSE KALKSTEINSKULPTUR des Aristoteles (384 bis 322 v. Chr.) beherrschte bis 1945 zusammen mit den Standbildern des Platon, Solon und Hippokrates den Treppenabsatz vor dem Hauptportal des zentralen Kollegiengebäudes der Kieler Universität im Schlossgarten. Die vier griechischen Gelehrten des Altertums, Inbegriff universeller Bildung und humanistischer Gelehrsamkeit, galten als Repräsentanten der Fakultäten.

ENTWURF UND AUSFÜHRUNG des Aristoteles lagen in Händen des Berliner Bildhauers Carl Begas (1845 bis 1916). Das 1876 eingeweihte prachtvolle Universitätshauptgebäude (Architekten: Martin Gropius und Heino Schmieden) und sein 1882 aufgestellter monumentaler Figurenschmuck waren Ausdruck der neuen preußischen Präsenz in Schleswig-Holstein.

IM ZWEITEN WELTKRIEG von Fliegerbomben zerstört, wurde die Ruine 1954 gesprengt und abgeräumt, die schwerbeschädigten Figuren vergraben. Der 2005 wiedergefundene Torso der Statue des Aristoteles verbindet in seiner fragmentarischen Gestalt besonders eindringlich die Brüche der jüngeren deutschen Geschichte mit dem seit ihrer Gründung 1665 unvermindert gültigen Motto der Christiana Albertina: Pax optima rerum – Frieden ist das höchste Gut.

 

Aufstellung im Juni 2008
Copyright: CAU, Foto: Sandra Sieraad
  Eingangsbereich
Copyright: CAU, Foto: Jurgen Haacks

DIE STEINRESTAURATOREN Paul Hofmann (l.) und Christoph Kronewirth (m.), die auch für das Berliner Pergamon-Museum tätig sind, stellten den 1,2 Tonnen schweren Torso im Eingangsbereich des Audimax auf. Professor Uwe Albrecht vom Kunsthistorischen Institut der CAU (r.) betreute den Aufbau. Nicht im Bild: der Emkendorfer Restaurator Jochen Seebach, der die Fragmente des Aristoteles zusammengesetzt hat.

Torso im Eingangsbereich

Der Torso im Eingangsbereich. (Copyright: CAU, Foto: Jurgen Haacks)



Zuständig für die Pflege dieser Seite: Pressestelle der Universität   ► presse@uv.uni-kiel.de