Kiel University
You are here: HomeKiel UniversityHistoryDevelopment

► zur deutschen Fassung

The Christian-Albrechts-Universität, Kiel
From regional training academy to international research centre

PD Dr. Carsten Jahnke

The University of Kiel was formally inaugurated on 5 October 1665. While Kiel's city fathers clearly intended to enhance the city's long-term economic success, they could never have foreseen that one day the university would be its largest employer. Two developments instigated the university's establishment: firstly, the dramatic rise in demand for well-educated priests as a result of the Reformation, and secondly, the admission of growing numbers of well-educated commoners to the administration as civil servants responsible for important duties. The duchies were having to recruit staff from foreign universities, from Copenhagen, Rostock and Greifswald, or further afield, from internationally renowned universities such as Paris, Leiden and Bologna. Hence, ever since the time of the Church Constitution of 1542/1544, Bugenhagen had been suggesting that the duchies should establish an educational institution of their own. But the division of the territory in 1544 prevented them from implementing the plan effectively. In the Gottorf region, the Schleswig Cathedral School was expanded – albeit without great success – into a university of sorts, a "Paedagogicum publicum". In his part of the territory, Duke Hans the Elder converted the Bordesholm Monastery into a similar educational institution in 1566. Duke Hans died in 1580 and Bordesholm passed to the Gottorf line, which now boasted two academies of higher education - one more than they could afford. The Paedagogicum publicum in Schleswig fell dormant, whilst Bordesholm continued to receive support.

At the end of the 16th century, for the first time, plans emerged to found a "proper" university, under the control of the duchies. But the wars at the beginning of the 17th century and the rivalry between the royal and the ducal line put paid to the plans. During that period, Gottorf developed into an intellectual and cultural centre in northern Germany. In this environment, it was only natural that thoughts turned, once again, to the possibility of a university. Since 1640, Duke Friedrich III had sought a dispensation from the emperor permitting him to found a university. This was granted in 1652, but the estates refused to establish the institution on grounds of cost, so the project was put on ice.

Friedrich III never revisited this plan himself, but placed his son Christian Albrecht under an obligation to set up a duchy university. Following the end of the major conflict between Denmark, Sweden and Schleswig-Holstein in 1660, the moment had come. Christian Albrecht entrusted his chancellor, Johan Adolf von Kielmannseck, with putting the plans into action. Both Schleswig and Kiel were considered as potential sites, but the council of the city of Kiel was able to make the better offer. Against the will of the citizens, who feared the corrupting influence of the students on the population, the council offered the former Franciscan monastery, free of charge, for use by the university. On 5 October 1665, the new university was formally opened. Economically it was sustained by income from the Bordesholm Academy which was merged with Kiel. Lectures by the 18 professors in the disciplines of Theology, Law, Medicine and Philosophy were held in the Franciscan Monastery. The books originated from the Bordesholm library and from Gottorf, and the Duke, who also assumed the office of Rector, donated the university insignia, the Vice Chancellor's sceptre and mantle, and the university seal.

Unlike today, the University of Kiel was an independent legal domain within the town and also within the duchy. Within the town, the university exercised its own jurisdiction over its professors and students, who were not compelled to pay any taxes or rates. Within the duchy, the university was represented as an "estate" at the regional parliament, and thus given equal status with the aristocratic monasteries, the nobility and the commoners of the town.

On 22 January 1666, the university held its first doctoral examinations, and was now fulfilling its full range of functions. For the next one hundred years, however, the university was left to coast along aimlessly. In fact, the sometimes warlike conflicts between the dukes of Gottorf and the kings of Denmark, and the constant shortage of money, left the institution in a state of decline. Only during the reign of the Russian Tsarina Katharine did the university stir into new life. Her steward in the duchies, Caspar von Saldern, devoted great attention to the university. It was reformed internally and its external presence was enhanced with the construction of a new building as a focal point. The new university was constructed directly beside the castle in the street named Kattenstraße (the site of the castle concert hall today). The plans were drawn up by Ernst Georg Sonnin, the architect of the "Michel" (St. Michaelis Church) in Hamburg. From this time onward, future civil servants in the duchies were compelled to study at Kiel for at least two years (known as the "biennium rule"), which ensured that places at the university were always filled.

The glory and prestige of Kiel University persisted even after the unification of the duchies in 1773. At one and the same time, Kiel was the northernmost German university and the southernmost Scandinavian university. It was a leading influence in many subject areas, for instance medicine and midwifery, but also the humanities with professors including von Treitschke, Dahlmann and Waitz. It was also a cultural centre for the duchies and the kingdoms of Denmark and Norway. Important movements and political ideas originated from the university, particularly on the question of nationhood around 1848.

When the duchies were annexed by Prussia, circumstances in Kiel changed rapidly. The status of the university was brought into line with the other Prussian universities. On 28 April 1867, the tax exemption for university lecturers was rescinded. Abolition of the university's private jurisdiction followed on 26 June, and of the biennium rule on 17 September of the same year. Kiel was one of many Prussian universities. Following times of stagnation in the early years of Prussian rule, numbers of students rose considerably from the 1870s onwards. The old buildings in the Kattenstraße were no longer adequate. The Prussian government had no choice but to commission a new building, which was designed by the Berlin architects Gropius and Schmieden. The university's main building was at the end of the Schlossgarten. Beside it, the new University Library and the Zoological Museum were built. In the period prior to the Second World War, numerous additional buildings were constructed, particularly for the Natural Sciences and Medicine.

The upheavals of the 20th century in Germany had a drastic impact on Kiel University, like all German universities. Over the Weimar Republic period it transformed from an imperial university to an educational institution run on strict National Socialist principles. Its Jewish members were brutally expelled at an early stage, a move which took a severe toll on the quality of teaching and research.

The Second World War was almost responsible for the demise of the University of Kiel. Most of the university buildings were in the city centre and were devastated by allied air raids. The University Library came off especially badly, taking a direct hit by a firebomb in 1942 and losing the bulk of its collection. The old and new main buildings were destroyed, along with the majority of clinics and departments. Under these circumstances, in 1945 the university authorities took the decision to relocate the university to Schleswig. It was solely thanks to the efforts of Kiel geologist Karl Gripp and a group of courageous university medics that new premises were found in Kiel. Gripp succeeded in persuading the British to put the ELAC building, a former munitions factory on Westring, at the university's disposal. Here, and on ships in the Kiel Firth, university tuition resumed on 17 November 1945 in the aftermath of the Second World War.

The Christian-Albrechts-Universität (CAU) has expanded steadily since 1945. After various alterations to the ELAC site, new buildings were erected on Westring in the 1960s: the University Library in 1962, the University Church in 1965 and the new Auditorium Maximum in 1969. The university had re-established itself as a campus university on the western side of Kiel.

Naturally the student uprisings of the late 1960s also made their mark on the CAU. For a while, strikes, occupations and protests became the order of the day. As a consequence, the old university structure was modernised, and all the old traditions were trimmed back. Since the early 1970s, the CAU has been a university for students of all ways of life. From the 2,000 plus students enrolled in 1945/46, numbers rose to 10,000 by the mid-70s, 15,000 by the early 1980s. Today there are 25,000 people studying in Kiel.

The university saw expansion in all subject areas. Whereas there were originally four faculties, they now number eight as newer subject areas have been added alongside the traditional disciplines, the Faculty of Engineering being one example. Even the buildings on Westring had soon run out of space. In 1972 the university moved into the first buildings on the Olshausenstraße. Sports grounds were added on campus, and the Engineering Faculty building went up in the Gaarden district of Kiel. In 2001, a new University Library was inaugurated in Leibnizstraße.

During its almost 350-year existence, the Christian-Albrechts-Universität in Kiel has given impetus and set new standards in many fields. That much is clear from its roll-call of Nobel prize winners. Some of the many recipients of this award to have taught at Kiel were Philipp Lenard (Physics 1905), Max Planck (Physics 1918) and Otto Diels (Chemistry 1950). Over the course of its history, the CAU has developed from a regional training academy to an internationally recognised university.


Recommended reading:


Carl Rodenberg / Volquart Pauls, Die Anfänge der Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel, Quellen und Forschungen zur Geschichte Schleswig-Holsteins, (The beginnings of the CAU Kiel, sources and research into the history of Schleswig-Holstein) Vol. 31, MNS 1955.

Karl Jordan (Ed.), Geschichte der Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel, 1665-1965 (History of the CAU Kiel, 1665-1965 (Several volumes) Neumünster 1965.



Responsible for this page: Press and Communication Services   ► presse@uv.uni-kiel.de

CAU - Universität Kiel
Sie sind hier: StartseiteUniversitätGeschichteEntwicklung

► english version

Die Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
Von der Landesschule zum internationalen Forschungszentrum

PD Dr. Carsten Jahnke

Als am 5. Oktober 1665 die Universität Kiel feierlich eingeweiht wurde, war es zwar der Wunsch der Kieler Stadtväter gewesen, die Wirtschaft der Stadt dauerhaft anzukurbeln, doch dass die Universität eines Tages zum größten Arbeitgeber werden sollte – das war wirklich nicht abzusehen. Zwei Entwicklungen hatten die Gründung der Universität beeinflusst: Zum einen war der Bedarf an gut ausgebildeten Priestern mit der Reformation drastisch angestiegen und zum Zweiten drängten mehr und mehr gut ausgebildete Bürgerliche in die Verwaltung, wo sie als "Beamte" wichtige Aufgaben übernahmen. Die Herzogtümer mussten dabei ihr Personal von ausländischen Universitäten beziehen, teils aus Kopenhagen, teils aus Rostock und Greifswald oder von den international renommierten Universitäten wie Paris, Leiden oder Bologna. Aus diesem Grunde hatte schon Bugenhagen in der Kirchenordnung von 1542/1544 die Gründung einer eigenen Lehranstalt angeregt. Aber die Landesteilung von 1544 verhinderte eine effektive Umsetzung des Planes. Im gottorfischen Teil wurde die Schleswiger Domschule - wenn auch ohne Erfolg - zu einer Art Universität, einem "Paedagogicum publicum", ausgebaut. Herzog Hans der Ältere wandelte in seinem Landesteil 1566 das Kloster Bordesholm zu einer ähnlichen Lehranstalt um. 1580 starb Herzog Hans, und Bordesholm fiel an die Gottorfer, die nun zwei höhere Schulen besaßen, sich aber nur eine leisten konnten. Das Paedagogicum publicum in Schleswig schlief ein, wohingegen Bordesholm weiter gefördert wurde.

Am Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts tauchten dann erstmals Pläne auf, in den Herzogtümern eine eigene, "richtige" Universität zu gründen. Doch die Kriege zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts und die Rivalität zwischen der königlichen und der herzoglichen Linie ließen die Pläne scheitern. In der selben Zeit entwickelte sich Gottorf zu einem geistigen und kulturellen Zentrum Norddeutschlands. In dieser Umgebung war es nur natürlich, sich um eine Universität zu kümmern. Seit 1640 bemühte sich Herzog Friedrich III beim Kaiser um ein Privileg, das ihm die Einrichtung einer Universität genehmigen sollte, was 1652 ausgestellt wurde. Doch die Stände lehnten die Gründung aus Kostengründen ab, das Projekt wurde auf Eis gelegt.

Friedrich III. nahm den Plan nicht wieder auf, verpflichtete aber seinen Sohn, Christian Albrecht, eine eigene Universität ins Leben zu rufen. Nach dem Ende der großen Dänisch-Schwedisch-Schleswig-Holsteinischen Auseinandersetzung 1660 war die Stunde gekommen. Christian Albrecht ließ die Pläne durch seinen Kanzler Johan Adolf von Kielmannseck in die Tat umsetzen. Als Standorte wurden Schleswig oder Kiel ins Auge gefasst, wobei der Rat der Stadt Kiel das bessere Angebot machen konnte. Gegen den Willen der Bürgerschaft, die den verderblichen Einfluss der Studenten auf die Bevölkerung fürchtete, stellte der Rat der Universität das ehemalige Franziskanerkloster kostenlos zur Verfügung. Am 5. Oktober 1665 wurde die neue Universität feierlich eröffnet. Die wirtschaftliche Grundlage bildeten die Einnahmen aus der Bordesholmer Schule, die mit Kiel verschmolzen wurde, der Unterricht der 18 Professoren in den Fächern Theologie, Jura, Medizin und den freien Künsten fand im Franziskanerkloster statt, die Bücher stammten aus der Bordesholmer Bibliothek und aus Gottorf und die Insignien der Universität, das Zepter und der Mantel des Prorektors, die Siegel usw. wurden vom Herzog gestiftet, der zugleich das Rektorenamt übernahm.

Die Universität Kiel bildete, anders als heute, einen eigenen Rechtsbereich in der Stadt und auch im Land. In der Stadt besaß die Universität eine eigene Gerichtsbarkeit über die Professoren und die Studenten, diese zahlten auch keine Steuern und Abgaben. Im Land war die Universität als "Stand" auf dem Landtag vertreten, stand damit gleichberechtigt neben den adligen Stiften, dem Adel und der städtischen Bürgerschaft.

Am 22. Januar 1666 nahm die Universität die ersten Doktorprüfungen ab und hatte damit ihren Betrieb vollständig aufgenommen. In den nächsten einhundert Jahren dümpelte die Universität aber vor sich hin. Die zum Teil kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Gottorfern und den Königen von Dänemark und die beständige Geldnot führten zu einem Verfall der Einrichtung. Erst unter der Regierung der russischen Zarin Katharina erwachte die Universität zu neuem Leben. Ihr Verwalter in den Herzogtümern, Caspar von Saldern, nahm sich intensiv der Universität an. Sie wurde nach innen reformiert und erhielt nach außen einen neuen Mittelpunkt, ein eigenes Gebäude. Die neue Universität wurde direkt am Schloss in der Kattenstraße (dort, wo heute die Musikhalle des Schlosses steht) errichtet, wobei die Pläne von Ernst Georg Sonnin, dem Erbauer des Hamburger Michel, stammten. Gleichzeitig wurden zukünftige Beamte in den Herzog­tümern verpflichtet, mindestens zwei Jahre in Kiel zu studieren (Bienniumsregel), womit die Auslastung der Universität gesichert wurde.

Der Glanz und Ruhm der Kieler Universität setzte sich auch nach der Vereinigung der Herzogtümer 1773 fort. Kiel war die nördlichste deutsche und zugleich auch die südlichste skandinavische Universität. Sie war in vielen Bereichen, so in der Medizin und Geburtshilfe, aber auch in den Geisteswissenschaften, z.B. mit den Professoren von Treitschke, Dahlmann und Waitz, führend und ein kulturelles Zentrum für die Herzogtümer und die Königreiche Dänemark und Norwegen. Gleichzeitig gingen von ihr wichtige Impulse, vor allem in der nationalen Frage um 1848, und politische Ideen aus.

Mit der Annexion der Herzogtümer durch Preußen änderten sich die Verhältnisse in Kiel rapide. Die Stellung der Universität wurde der der anderen preußischen Universitäten angeglichen. Am 28. April wurde die Steuerfreiheit der Dozenten, am 26. Juni 1867 die eigene Gerichtsbarkeit der Universität aufgehoben, am 17. September die Bienniumsregel abgeschafft. Kiel war eine von vielen preußischen Universitäten. Nach Zeiten der Stagnation in den ersten preußischen Jahren, nahm die Zahl der Studenten seit den 1870er Jahren erheblich zu. Die alten Gebäude an der Kattenstraße reichten nicht mehr aus. Die preußische Regierung sah sich zu einem Neubau genötigt, der durch die Berliner Architekten Gropius und Schmieden entworfen wurde. Das Hauptgebäude der Universität lag am Ende des Schlossgartens, daneben wurden die neue Universitätsbibliothek und das Zoologische Museum errichtet. Bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden zahlreiche weitere Gebäude, vor allem für die Naturwissenschaften und die Medizin gebaut.

Die Umwälzungen in Deutschland im 20. Jahrhundert erfassten die Kieler Universität wie alle anderen Universitäten auch. Sie wandelte sich von einer kaiserlichen Universität über die Zeiten der Weimarer Republik hin zu einer streng nationalsozialistisch ausgerichteten Lehranstalt, aus der die jüdischen Mitglieder schon sehr frühzeitig und rüde vertrieben wurden, was mit erheblichen Qualitätseinbußen in Lehre und Forschung verbunden war.

Der Zweite Weltkrieg bedeutete beinahe das Aus für die Kieler Universität. Die meisten Universitätsgebäude lagen in der Innenstadt und fielen dem alliierten Bombardement zum Opfer. Besonders schlimm traf es die Universitätsbibliothek, die 1942 von einer Brandbombe getroffen wurde und einen Großteil ihrer Bestände verlor. Aber auch das neue und das alte Hauptgebäude wurden zerstört, ebenso ein Großteil der Kliniken und Institute. In dieser Situation beschloss die Universitätsleitung 1945, die Hochschule nach Schleswig zu verlegen. Einzig dem Kieler Geologen Karl Gripp und einer Gruppe beherzter Universitätsmediziner ist es zu verdanken, dass in Kiel neue Räume gefunden wurden. Gripp konnte die Engländer dazu überreden, die Gebäude der ELAC am Westring, einer ehemaligen Waffenfabrik, der Universität zur Verfügung zu stellen. Hier und auf Schiffen auf der Förde begann am 17. November 1945 wieder der Lehrbetrieb nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Seit 1945 expandiert die Christian-Albrechts-Universität. Nach Umbauten auf dem ELAC-Gelände wurden in den 60er Jahren neue Gebäude am Westring errichtet: 1962 die Universitätsbibliothek, 1965 die Universitätskirche, 1969 das neue Auditorium Maximum. Die Universität hatte sich am westlichen Stadtrand Kiels als Campusuniversität neu etabliert.

Die Studentenunruhen der späten 60er Jahre hatten natürlich auch ihre Auswirkungen auf die CAU. Streiks, Besetzungen und Proteste gehörten zum Alltag der Zeit. Als Folge wurde die alte Universitätsstruktur modernisiert, aber es wurden auch alle alten Traditionen gekappt. Waren 1945/46 gut 2.000 Studierende in Kiel eingeschrieben, waren es Mitte der 70er Jahre schon 10.000, Anfang der 80er 15.000, und heute sind es 25.000 Menschen, die in Kiel studieren.

Die Universität expandierte in allen Gebieten. Waren es am Anfang vier Fakultäten, so sind es heute acht, zu den traditionellen kamen neue, wie die Technische Fakultät, hinzu. Auch die Gebäude am Westring wurden bald zu klein. 1972 wurden die ersten Häuser an der Olshausenstraße bezogen, es kamen die Sportstätten auf dem Campus und die Gebäude der Technischen Fakultät in Kiel Gaarden hinzu. 2001 wurde eine neue Universitätsbibliothek in der Leibnizstraße eingeweiht.

In den fast 350 Jahren ihres Bestehens hat die Christian-Albrechts-Universität in Kiel in vielen Bereichen Impulse und Marksteine gesetzt. Das wird auch bei den Nobelpreisträgern deutlich. Unter den zahlreichen Trägern dieser Auszeichnung lehrten unter anderen Philipp Lenard (Physik 1905), Max Planck (Physik 1918) oder Otto Diels (Chemie 1950) in Kiel. Die CAU hat sich in ihrer Geschichte von einer regionalen Lehranstalt zu einer international anerkannten Universität entwickelt.


Zum Lesen empfohlen:


  • Carl Rodenberg/Volquart Pauls, Die Anfänge der Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel, Quellen und Forschungen zur Geschichte Schleswig-Holsteins, Bd. 31, MNS 1955.
  • Karl Jordan (Hrsg.), Geschichte der Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel, 1665-1965, mehrere Bände, Neumünster 1965.
  • Große Forscher von der Förde



Zuständig für die Pflege dieser Seite: Pressestelle der Universität   ► presse@uv.uni-kiel.de