EU provides European University of the Seas (SEA-EU) with funding for a further four years totalling 14.4 million euros

  • 1.87 million euros from this goes to Kiel University (CAU)

  • University alliance SEA-EU grows from six to nine universities

  • Alliance makes it easy for its 150,000 students and 18,000 employees to exchange ideas and strengthens international cooperation

Joint research, teaching and exchange between nine European universities at coastal locations: the European Commission is excited about the project and is therefore funding the university alliance SEA-EU for a further four years. In the assessment, the project scored 90 of 100 possible points, considerably more than the required minimum point score of 70. This meant that all nine partners received the 14.4 million euros they applied for from the EU. Of this total amount, Kiel University will receive 1.87 million euros.

a woman with a quote as text: The second funding phase for SEA-EU offers Kiel University the great opportunity to strategically push ahead with our internationalisation in a strong alliance.

“The second funding phase for SEA-EU offers Kiel University the great opportunity to strategically push ahead with our internationalisation in a strong alliance,” said CAU President Professor Dr Simone Fulda, adding that: “With our partners we can establish innovative formats for cooperation and mobility in research, teaching and transfer and by doing so further expand the European Education and Research Area together.”

 

a woman with a quote as text: I am looking forward to including entirely new fields in international cooperation: sustainable campus development and environmentally-friendly international mobility. But also to how we will communicate knowledge.

“I also regard SEA-EU as a very strong catalyst for our further internationalisation,” said Dr Martina Schmode, Director of the International Center at Kiel University. “And I am delighted that we can include completely new fields in the focus on international cooperation. Examples of this include sustainable campus development and environmentally-friendly international mobility as well as joint further development of science communication.”

a man with a quote as text: There is something for everyone at SEA-EU FOR ALL. Students and employees can easily travel to and study at our eight partner universities without having to go through a lot of red tape.

Dr Jonathan Durgadoo, project coordinator for SEA-EU at Kiel University, adds that: “Whether you are a student or a member of staff, there is something for everyone at SEA-EU. People can easily travel between and study at the universities without having a go through a lot of red tape.” In addition to traditional teaching and study visits and joint research, there are language courses, job shadowing and sports events, to name just a few examples of joint projects, said Durgadoo.

Like all the other partners, Kiel University takes on a leading role in certain areas of the alliance. Among other things, it is managing a project that aims to improve career prospects of young researchers within and outside of universities.

SEA-EU continues to grow

Since 2019 the alliance has comprised six universities: the University of Cádiz, which coordinates the alliance, the University of Western Brittany (France), Kiel University, the University of Gdańsk (Poland), the University of Split (Croatia) and the University of Malta. With the second project phase now approved, three more partners are part of the network: the University of Naples Parthenope (Italy), the University of Algarve (Faro, Portugal) and Nord University (Bodø, Norway). The funding from the EU Commission covers 80 percent of the total costs of SEA-EU. The remaining 20 percent is financed by the nine members.

Together the nine partners form an interdisciplinary, inter-university, multi-ethnic and multilingual university campus. Close cooperation with European partners makes it possible for the universities to push ahead with the international development of technologies, strategies and models. In this way, important contributions can be made to finding solutions to major social, global challenges of our time. The UN Sustainable Development Goals, which the alliance regards as being in line with European values, are an important guide in this respect.

more information about sea-eu

Contact (SEA-EU at CAU):

Dr Martina Schmode
Head of the International Center at CAU
mschmode@uv.uni-kiel.de

Dr Jonathan Durgadoo
Head of Project Office & Coordinator
jdurgadoo@uv.uni-kiel.de

Press contact:

Press, Communication and Marketing Services
Department for Press, Digital and Science Communication

EU fördert Europäische Universität der Meere SEA-EU für weitere vier Jahre mit 14,4 Millionen Euro

  • 1,87 Millionen Euro davon für Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU)
  • Hochschulallianz SEA-EU wächst von sechs auf neun Universitäten
  • Bündnis bietet seinen 150.000 Studierenden und 18.000 Beschäftigten einfachen Austausch untereinander und stärkt internationale Zusammenarbeit

Gemeinsame Forschung, Lehre und der Austausch zwischen neun europäischen Universitäten an Küstenstandorten: Die Europäische Kommission ist von dem Konzept begeistert und fördert daher die Hochschulallianz SEA-EU für weitere vier Jahre. In der Bewertung erhielt das Projekt 90 von 100 möglichen Punkten und liegt damit deutlich über der geforderten Mindestpunktzahl von 70. Alle neun Partner erhalten daher die beantragten 14,4 Millionen Euro von der EU. Die CAU bekommt davon 1,87 Millionen Euro.

Portraitfoto einer Frau neben einer Texttafel mit dem Zitat: Die zweite Förderphase für SEA-EU bietet für die CAU die großartige Chance, unsere Internationalisierung in einer starken Allianz strategisch voranzutreiben.

„Die zweite Förderphase für SEA-EU bietet für die CAU die großartige Chance, unsere Internationalisierung in einer starken Allianz strategisch voranzutreiben“, sagt CAU-Präsidentin Professorin Dr. Simone Fulda und ergänzt: „Mit unseren Partnern können wir innovative Kooperations- und Mobilitätsformate in Forschung, Lehre und Transfer etablieren und damit den europäischen Bildungs- und Forschungsraum gemeinsam weiter ausbauen.“

Portraitfoto einer Frau neben einer Texttafel mit dem Zitat: Ich freue mich auf ganz neue Bereiche in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit: Die nachhaltige Campusentwicklung und umweltverträgliche Auslandsmobilität. Aber auch wie wir Wissen kommunizieren.

„Auch ich sehe SEA-EU als ganz starken Katalysator für unsere weitere Internationalisierung“, so Dr. Martina Schmode, Leiterin des International Center der CAU. „Und ich freue mich, dass wir dabei auch ganz neue Bereiche mit in den Fokus der internationalen Zusammenarbeit nehmen. Beispiele dafür sind die nachhaltige Campusentwicklung und umweltverträgliche Auslandsmobilität oder auch die gemeinsame Weiterentwicklung von Wissenschaftskommunikation.“

Portraitfoto eines Mannes neben einer Texttafel mit dem Zitat: Bei SEA-EU FOR ALL findet jeder etwas Passendes. Studierende und Beschäftigte können einfach und unbürokratisch zu unseren acht Partneruniversitäten reisen und sich weiterbilden.

Dr. Jonathan Durgadoo, Projektkoordinator für SEA-EU an der CAU, ergänzt: „Ob Studierende oder Beschäftige: Bei SEA-EU findet jeder etwas Passendes. Menschen können einfach und unbürokratisch zwischen den Hochschulen reisen und sich weiterbilden.“ Neben klassischen Lehr- oder Studienaufenthalten und gemeinsamer Forschung seien Sprachkurse, Job Shadowing und Sport-Events nur einige Beispiele für gemeinsame Projekte, sagt Durgadoo.

Die CAU übernimmt in der Allianz - wie alle Partner - in bestimmten Bereichen eine Führungsrolle. Sie leitet unter anderem ein Projekt, um Karriereperspektiven von Nachwuchsforschenden innerhalb und außerhalb der Hochschulen zu verbessern.

SEA-EU wächst weiter

Seit 2019 bilden sechs Hochschulen die Allianz: die Universität Cádiz, Koordinatorin der Allianz, die Universität der Westbretagne (Frankreich), die Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, die Universität Danzig (Polen), die Universität Split (Kroatien) und die Universität Malta. Mit der zweiten bewilligten Projektphase gehören nun drei weitere Partner zu dem Netzwerk: die Universität Neapel Parthenope (Italien), die Universität der Algarve (Faro, Portugal) und die Nord Universität (Bodø, Norwegen). Die Förderung der EU-Kommission deckt 80 Prozent der gesamten Kosten von SEA-EU. Die restlichen 20 Prozent finanzieren die neun Mitglieder.

Gemeinsam bilden die neun Partner einen multiethnischen, mehrsprachigen und transdisziplinären interuniversitären Hochschulcampus. Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den europäischen Partnern erlaubt es, die länderübergreifende Entwicklung von Technologien, Konzepten und Modellen voranzutreiben. So können wichtige Beiträge zur Lösung der großen gesellschaftlichen, globalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit geleistet werden. Eine bedeutende Orientierungshilfe hierbei sind die UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziele, die für die Allianz im Einklang mit den europäischen Werten stehen.

Weitere Informationen zu SEA-EU an der CAU

Kontakt (SEA-EU an der CAU):

Dr. Martina Schmode
Leitung International Center an der CAU
mschmode@uv.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Jonathan Durgadoo
Leiter des Projektbüros & Koordinator 
jdurgadoo@uv.uni-kiel.de

Pressekontakt:

Stabsstelle Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Sachgebiet Presse, Digitale und Wissenschaftskommunikation