unizeit Schriftzug

PDF download

PDF #104 (GERMAN)

Archives

unizeit Archives

 

Contact:

unizeit@uni-kiel.de
0431/880-2104

 

Editorial

Dear readers,

The pandemic has us firmly in its grip again. After a quieter summer, contact restrictions and limitations on public life have returned to our everyday lives. Just recently, we welcomed our new students via video stream - for the first time unfortunately not personally in the Audimax. With prudence, understanding and mutual consideration, we can meet the challenges of further restrictions together.

The coronavirus pandemic has reminded us of the importance of science. The public interest in research has rarely been as great as it is now. Also in the "unizeit", it’s about giving a voice to scientists, and enabling insights into research operations beyond the university campus. The new issue that is in front of you today shows just how multi-faceted science is. Among other things, we take you inside the Center for Ocean and Society, which fights for sustainable use of our oceans, the Institute for Educational Psychological Research on Teaching and Learning (IPL), which researches how people assess their own abilities, or inside physical anthropology, in which 4,000-year-old skeletons offer an insight into everyday life in times long past. This time, the spotlight is on the EXIST funding programme: innovative start-up ideas showcase the successful transfer from science into practice.

I hope you enjoy reading this edition
Prof. Dr Simone Fulda
President

Pupils and teacher in a classroom

Talk is golden

How is relevant school knowledge represented, and how can it be conveyed properly? This question was the subject of an interdisciplinary didactics conference at Kiel University. Presentations and related findings have now been published as a book.
 
pills in pill bottles

Medical trials on defenceless patients

Medical trials on children, young people and adults in the care homes for the disabled and psychiatric wards in Schleswig-Holstein were common practice until 1975. Kiel University is now preparing a legal analysis of these procedures.

 
Four men on a square

A high frequency career

The “aerosense” project adopts a new approach to measure particulate matter. Thanks to funding provided by the EXIST Transfer of Research programme, those involved in the aerosense project have had their sights set on establishing a company since September.

 

 
Woman sitting on a red cube

Assistance for start-ups

Getting off to a good start is easy with a good idea and support from the Centre for Entrepreneurship (ZfE) at Kiel University. In 2020, the ZfE team is accompanying four simultaneous EXIST start-up projects on the path to independence.

 
Four men in front of a building

Turning more quietly

Wind turbines are too loud. That is the opinion of many actually or potentially affected people, which contributes significantly to the acceptance problems of this technology. An innovative quartet of experts who are very familiar with the topic of wind power is currently in the process of founding the company COMPOSE under the umbrella of Kiel University, which aims to achieve success with…

 
Human bones are analysed for externally visible signs of diseases

Down to the bone

Only the skeletal remains of the man who lived around 4,000 years ago in the Caucasus. And yet still he tells us his story.

 

 
EKSH doctoral degree scholarship recipient Yafei Guo

Research to fight world hunger

Yafei Guo came from China to Kiel, to conduct research into more environmentally friendly agriculture – and fell in love with the cool north. A doctoral degree scholarship from the Gesellschaft für Energie und Klimaschutz Schleswig-Holstein GmbH now gives him the necessary leeway for his ambitious dissertation project

unizeit Schriftzug

Editorial

Liebe Leserinnen und Leser,

die Pandemie hat uns wieder fest im Griff. Kontaktbeschränkungen und Einschränkungen des öffentlichen Lebens sind nach einem ruhigeren Sommer in unseren Alltag zurückgekehrt. Erst vor Kurzem haben wir unsere neuen Studierenden per Videostream begrüßt – schweren Herzens zum ersten Mal nicht persönlich im Audimax. Mit Umsicht, Verständnis und gegenseitiger Rücksichtnahme können wir die Herausforderungen weiterer Einschränkungen gemeinsam meistern.

Die Corona-Pandemie hat uns auch an den Stellenwert der Wissenschaft erinnert. Selten war das öffentliche Interesse an Forschung so groß wie jetzt. Auch in der »unizeit« geht es darum, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern eine Stimme zu geben und über Universitätsgrenzen hinaus Einblicke in den Forschungsbetrieb zu ermöglichen. Wie facettenreich Wissenschaft ist, zeigt die neue Ausgabe, die heute vor Ihnen liegt. Unter anderem nehmen wir Sie mit in das Center for Ocean and Society, das für einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit unseren Meeren kämpft, an das Institut für Pädagogisch-Psychologische Lehr- und Lernforschung (IPL), wo erforscht wird, wie Menschen ihr eigenes Leistungsvermögen beurteilen, oder in die physische Anthropologie, in der 4.000 Jahre alte Skelette einen Einblick in den Alltag längst vergangener Zeiten geben. Im »Blickpunkt« steht dieses Mal das EXIST-Förderprogramm: Innovative Gründungsideen zeigen, wie der Transfer von der Wissenschaft in die Praxis gelingt.

Viel Vergnügen bei der Lektüre wünscht Ihnen

Prof. Dr. Simone Fulda
Präsidentin

Schüler und Lehrerin im Klassenzimmer

Reden ist Gold

Wie ist schulisch relevantes Wissen repräsentiert und wie lässt es sich gut vermitteln? Diese Frage war Gegenstand einer interdisziplinären Didaktik-Tagung an der Uni Kiel. Die Vorträge und Erkenntnisse daraus sind jetzt in Buchform erschienen.  
 
Pillen in Gläsern

Medikamententests an Wehrlosen

In schleswig-holsteinischen Einrichtungen der Behindertenhilfe und der Psychiatrie waren Medikamentenversuche an den dort untergebrachten Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen bis 1975 gang und gäbe. Die Universität Kiel arbeitet diese Vorgänge rechtlich auf.

 

 
Zwei Männer und eine Frau

Eine Idee besser

Produktinnovationen sind für Unternehmen überlebenswichtig. Doch welche Idee aus dem Berg an Möglichkeiten ist die vielversprechendste? Die Software des Kieler Gründungsvorhabens IdeaChamp hilft bei der Entscheidungsfindung.

 
Frau sitzt auf rotem Würfel

Geburtshilfe für Start-ups

Mit einer guten Idee und der Unterstützung durch das Zentrum für Entrepreneurship (ZfE) der Uni Kiel lässt sich gut gründen. 2020 begleitet das ZfE-Team gleichzeitig vier EXIST-Gründungsprojekte in die Selbstständigkeit.

 
Zwei Männer und eine Frau auf einem Acker

Optimal füttern

Die Optimierung von Silage ist das Ziel von Silolytics, drei jungen Fachleuten aus Agrarwissenschaft und -technik. Das EXIST-Gründerstipendium ebnet ihnen den Weg zum eigenen Unternehmen.

 
Menschliche Knochen auf einem Tisch

Bis auf die Knochen

Nur das Skelett ist übrig geblieben von dem Mann, der vor rund 4.000 Jahren im Kaukasus gelebt hat. Und trotzdem erzählt er uns seine Geschichte.

 

 
Paragraphen-Symbole

Recht für die Einheit

Neue politische Strömungen im Parlament, Diskussionen um militärische Operationen im Ausland, Aufbau Ost mit Solidaritätszuschlag: Die am 3. Oktober 1990 in Kraft getretene Deutsche Einheit hat viele politische und gesellschaftliche Bereiche verändert. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt dabei immer auch das Staatsrecht.

 
Leerer Schreibblock und zerknüllte Papiere

Keine Angst vor dem leeren Blatt

Ob im Studium oder im akademischen Betrieb: Ins Schreiben kommen ist für viele eine Herausforderung. Gegen die Angst vor dem Anfangen helfen eine ehrliche Selbstanalyse und die richtigen Unterstützungsangebote.

 

 

Service

unizeit-Suche:

In den unizeit-Ausgaben 27-96 suchen