unizeit Schriftzug
Portrait

by Prof Dr Simone Fulda, President of Kiel University

Zwei Männer ziehen Wagen durchs Watt

Using a combination of geophysical and archaeological methods, researchers at Kiel University are looking back to the 14th century and unearthing the history of formerly inhabited areas in the North Frisian Wadden Sea.

Euro coins in the sky

In addition to the already abundant problems, the European Union has also been forced to tackle the consequences of the coronavirus pandemic for almost a year now. However, experts at Kiel University have their doubts about whether the EU is doing so in an appropriate manner.

Silhouetten stilisisierter Corona-Varianten

Viruses are masters of evolution. The new coronavirus is clearly very good at adapting to new hosts. Over the last few months it has also adapted specifically to humans as hosts.

Man with hair and mouth cover holds ampoule

Scientists succeeded in developing vaccines against the new coronavirus that are clearly effective and safe in record time. How does the vaccine work? Do the vaccines deliver what they promise? And were they really carefully tested in such a short time?

Claudia Bozzaro

With her appointment in October 2020, Claudia Bozzaro is the new Professor of Medical Ethics at Kiel University. In her interview with unizeit, she talks about challenges, answers to major health policy issues and the limits of medicine.

Flooding in southern Bangladesh

Climate change particularly affects developing countries, which are hardly able to cope with the negative consequences on their own. Support is available from climate funds. The big question is, how can the money be distributed fairly?

Figure showing vehicles

In a multi-faceted concept, Kiel University and its partners outline the idea and implementation of an integrated inner-city mobility chain of the future. And this goes far beyond just climate-friendly means of transport.

Futuristisch anmutender Serverraum

The retention of data is prohibited. This was decided by the European Court of Justice (ECJ) last October. However, the decision still provides some room for manoeuvre, as the highest judicial body of the EU allows for certain exceptions.

Tube

Molecules, the connections between chemical elements, are contained in all the visible and invisible objects that surround us. Yet it is little known that molecules can also be used to transfer data and are a possible alternative to radio technology.

Office situation

Tips for the perfect boss are on the menu at every career website and available on the shelves of every bookshop. But if the recipe for success and its ingredients are so clear, why are there still problems? Why do supervisors fail with their ideas?

Talking people at the table

Support for an academic career at the CAU is offered by the new via:mento_international mentoring programme, aimed especially at female postdoc scientists from abroad.

Kathrin Ludwig and Maria Woischwill

Tutors are important pillars of university teaching. Kiel University runs a comprehensive advanced training programme called BEAT – Be A Tutor.

screenshot of a video conference

Teaching has primarily been conducted online since the summer semester 2020. Lecturers have to adapt the methods they use to teach their classes and present their lectures to the new formats. The university is helping them do this.

Susanne Lilian Gössl

International legal perspectives

Robert Häsler

Systems medicine and complex diseases

Sonja Klimek

Poetry by women

Peer Kröger

From data to findings

Holger Sondermann

Physiology of bacteria

Nele Matz-Lück

Legal expert Professor Nele Matz-Lück has been the Vice President for international affairs, young researchers, equality and diversity since October 2020. In an interview with "unizeit", she gives insights into her new role.

Florian Henkies

Florian Henkies, 27, is one of 15 doctoral researchers in the new Research Training Group (RTG) TransEvo. unizeit spoke to him about the importance of evolutionary research in Kiel, the advantages of doctoral research in a research training group, and the special challenges in the coronavirus year.

Standbild eines Lehrvideos

Whether it's in German or physics, videos and other digital tools are not only adding variation to everyday teaching but also producing great successes in learning across many school subjects. The Centre for Teacher Training (ZfL) at Kiel University is investigating how this works.

Dr. Chao Li

Research in other countries, build up your international network: completely in the spirit of the natural scientist Alexander von Humboldt, there are currently two researchers with a Humboldt Research Fellowship working simultaneously in the KiNSIS priority research area with Dr Gitanjali Kolhatkar and Dr Chao Li.

Funkmastspitze

Is 5G causing serious illnesses across the country? There are strong fears about the latest mobile communications technology standard among various sections of society. However, one expert calls for calm.

Man running on treadmill

Should running shoes really be exchanged after 500 kilometres, as some manufacturers recommend? This question is being considered by students at the Institute of Sport Sciences who are investigating how shoe wear affects the biomechanics of running.

Old postcard of an industrialised city

Professor Hans-Rudolf Bork went on a search through 2,000 years of German environmental history. The result is a publication which for the first time and comprehensively describes the people and their impact on nature over the course of time.

Siegel der Universität Kiel

unizeit Schriftzug
Porträt

Viel Vergnügen bei der Lektüre der unizeit wünscht Ihnen Ihre Universitätspräsidentin Simone Fulda.

Zwei Männer ziehen Wagen durchs Watt

Durch Kombination von geophysikalischen und archäologischen Methoden blicken Forschende der Uni Kiel bis ins 14. Jahrhundert zurück – und fördern die Geschichte ehemals besiedelter Gebiete im nordfriesischen Wattenmeer zutage.

Euro-Münszen am Himmel

Neben den schon reichlich vorhandenen Problemen muss sich die Europäische Union schon seit fast einem Jahr auch noch mit den Folgen der Corona-Pandemie herumschlagen. Ob sie das in geeigneter Weise tut, haben Fachleute der Uni Kiel jedoch ihre Zweifel.

Silhouetten stilisisierter Corona-Varianten

Viren sind Meister der Evolution. Das neue Coronavirus kann sich offensichtlich gut an neue Wirte anpassen. In den letzten Monaten hat es sich speziell auch auf den Menschen als Wirt eingestellt.

Mensch mit Haar- und Mundschutz hält Ampulle

Gegen das neue Coronavirus gelang es in Rekordzeit, Impfstoffe zu entwickeln, die offensichtlich wirksam und sicher sind. Wie funktioniert die Impfung? Halten die Impfstoffe, was sie versprechen? Und wurden sie in der kurzen Zeit wirklich sorgfältig geprüft?

Claudia Bozzaro

Claudia Bozzaro ist seit Oktober 2020 neue Professorin für Medizinethik an der CAU. Im unizeit-Interview spricht sie über die Herausforderung, Antworten auf große gesundheitspolitische Fragen zu finden, und über die Grenzen der Medizin.

Winziges Boot in überflutetem Wohngebiet

Vom Klimawandel sind insbesondere Entwicklungsländer betroffen, die aus eigener Kraft die negativen Folgen kaum bewältigen können. Unterstützung bieten Klimafonds. Die große Frage ist, wie können die Gelder gerecht verteilt werden?

Grafik mit Land- und Wasserfahrzeugen

In einem vielschichtigen Konzept skizziert die Uni Kiel mit ihren Partnern Idee und Umsetzung einer integrierten innerstädtischen Mobilitätskette der Zukunft. Dabei geht es um sehr viel mehr als nur klimafreundliche Verkehrsmittel.

Futuristisch anmutender Serverraum

Vorratsdatenspeicherung ist unzulässig. Das hat im vergangenen Oktober der Europäische Gerichtshof (EuGH) entschieden. Spielräume bietet dieses Urteil aber trotzdem, denn das höchste rechtssprechende Organ der Europäischen Union lässt Ausnahmen zu.

Röhre

Moleküle, also Verbindungen von chemischen Elementen, stecken in allen sicht- oder auch unsichtbaren Dingen, die uns umgeben. Kaum bekannt ist aber: Moleküle können auch zur Datenübertragung genutzt werden und beispielsweise eine Alternative zur Funktechnik darstellen.

Locker platzierte Personen in einem hellen Raum

Tipps für den perfekten Chef oder die perfekte Chefin hat jede Karriereseite im Köcher und jede Buchhandlung in ihrem Regal. Doch wenn das Rezept und seine Zutaten so eindeutig sind, warum gibt es dann noch Probleme? Warum scheitern Vorgesetzte mit ihren Ideen?

Diskutierende Personen an einem Tisch

Unterstützung für die akademische Karriere an der CAU bietet das neue Mentoring-Programm via:mento_international. Das Programm richtet sich speziell an promovierte Wissenschaftlerinnen aus dem Ausland.

Kathrin Ludwig und Maria Woischwill

Tutorinnen und Tutoren sind wichtige Säulen der universitären Lehre. Für ihre Qualifizierung gibt es an der CAU das umfassende Weiterbildungsprogramm BEAT – BE A TUTOR.

Screenshot einer Video-Konferenz

Seit dem Sommersemester 2020 findet Lehre in erster Linie online statt. Dozierende müssen ihre Kurse und Vorlesungen didaktisch und methodisch an die neuen Formate anpassen. Hierbei bekommen sie Unterstützung von der Universität.

Susanne Lilian Gössl

Internationale Rechtsperspektive

Robert Häsler

Systemmedizin und komplexe Erkrankungen

Sonja Klimek

Dichtkunst von Frauen

Peer Kröger

Von Daten zu Erkenntnissen

Holger Sondermann

Physiologie von Bakterien

Nele Matz-Lück im Interview

Rechtswissenschaftlerin Professorin Nele Matz-Lück ist seit Oktober 2020 Vizepräsidentin für Internationales, Nachwuchs, Gleichstellung und Diversität. Im Gespräch mit der unizeit gibt sie Einblicke in ihr neues Amt.

Florian Henkies im Labor

Florian Henkies, 27, ist einer von 15 Promovierenden im neuen Graduiertenkolleg TransEvo. unizeit sprach mit ihm über die Bedeutung der Evolutionsforschung in Kiel, die Vorteile eines Promotionsstudiums in einem Graduiertenkolleg und die besonderen Herausforderungen im Corona-Jahr.

Standbild eines Lehrvideos

Egal ob es um Deutsch geht oder um Physik: In vielen Schulfächern bringen Videos und andere digitale Tools nicht nur Abwechslung in den Unterrichtsalltag, sondern auch gute Lernerfolge. Wie das funktioniert, vermittelt an der Uni Kiel das Zentrum für Lehrerbildung.

Dr. Chao Li

In anderen Ländern forschen, sich ein internationales Netzwerk aufbauen: Ganz im Sinne des Naturforschers Alexander von Humboldt arbeiten mit Dr. Gitanjali Kolhatkar und Dr. Chao Li zurzeit gleich zwei Forschende mit einem Humboldtstipendium im Forschungsschwerpunkt KiNSIS.

Funkmastspitze

Bringt 5G schlimme Krankheiten übers Land? Die Ängste vor dem neuen Mobilfunk-Standard sind in Teilen der Bevölkerung gewaltig. Ein Experte rät dagegen zur Gelassenheit.

Mensch läuft auf Laufband

Sollten Laufschuhe wirklich nach 500 Kilometern ausgetauscht werden, wie einige Herstellerfirmen empfehlen? Diese Frage beschäftigt Studierende des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft. Sie untersuchen, wie sich der Schuhverschleiß auf die Biomechanik des Laufens auswirkt.

Professor Hans-Rudolf Bork hat sich auf Spurensuche durch 2.000 Jahre deutsche Umweltgeschichte begeben. Herausgekommen ist ein Werk, das erstmalig und umfassend den Menschen und seine Auswirkung auf die Natur im Laufe der Zeit beschreibt.

Siegel der Universität Kiel

unizeit-Suche:

In den unizeit-Ausgaben 27-93 suchen