unizeit Schriftzug
Portrait

by Prof Dr Simone Fulda, President of Kiel University

Boat with refugees

Talking to each other and telling stories is a primal need of humanity, because it awakens feelings in us – both positive as well as negative. Right-wing populism exploits this for its purposes. A symposium at Kiel University explored how narratives in politics also operate through feelings.

Rape field and solar panels

Sustainability is one of the major topics of the 21st century. More than ever before, politics, industry and society are now struggling with the issue of how to responsibly deal with limited resources. Professor of Philosophy and ethicist Konrad Ott explains why sustainability policy is first and foremost an ethical question and what role the pandemic could play.

Cow

Pasture grazing for dairy cows can form an important part of sustainable milk production. In terms of productivity and cost effectiveness, it is a genuine alternative to other forms of farming.

Taking samples from a river

Jointly shape a more sustainable future – but how? One way can be a Master's degree, for example the English-language Environmental Management degree programme at the Kiel School of Sustainability.

Two bumblebees on a blossom

School pupils go equipped with scoop nets and magnifying glasses on a tour of discovery through grass and flowers. This campaign is Kiel Science Factory's contribution to the nature conservation project "Blütenbunt-Insektenreich" (colourful flowers-rich in insects).

A conversation with Vice-President Eckhard Quandt.

Professor Eckhard Quandt, who has been the Vice-President of Research, Transfer, Scientific Infrastructure and Digitalisation at Kiel University since October 2020, has big plans for his term in office. He takes a look at the current processes in an interview with unizeit.

Axel Koch

Advice and support for cooperation projects with companies as well as financial and administrative processing under one roof: Uni GmbH at Kiel University (the CAU's own limited liability company) is to become a service provider at the interface between research and industry.

Light bulb

How innovative is Germany? Every year, a six-member commission of experts with involvement from Kiel looks for answers to this question and presents a report to the Federal Chancellor that is full of recommendations, of which more than just a few go on to be implemented.

Simulation

Whether solar cells, sensors or storage elements: materials with completely new properties could push forward future areas from renewable energies to life sciences and quantum computers. Physicist Nahid Talebi wants to develop the special microscopes needed for this.

[Translate to English:] Altes Kloster

Church archives are some of the most reliable historical sources. Nevertheless, it is still hard work unearthing the history of monasteries. Kiel University's Institute of History is now involved in just such a mammoth task for the second time as part of a broad-based cooperation project.

Woman takes samples from a wooden beam.

In meticulous detail, the dendrochronologist Lisa Shindo records the annual growth rings of historic wooden beams and furniture to determine their age and origin, as well as the ecological and climatic conditions of the past in the region.

Election poster

In election campaigns, parties not only rely on political content, but also on images. The aim of these is to steer the public image of the candidates in a specific direction, through the associated emotions. Researchers from Kiel University have taken a closer look.

Three people working together

What makes a successful team? There are, without doubt, many factors involved. The ability to change clearly plays a decisive role, at least in project-based work. This is the finding of a study led by Professor Claudia Buengeler from the Institute of Business at Kiel University.

Portraitbild Christine Böhmer

Evolution of the spine

Portraitbild Martin Furholt

Prehistoric societies

Portraitbild Kathrin Kirsch

Music in a historical environment

Portraitbild Wolfgang von Gahlen-Hoops

Teaching and learning nursing care

Portraitbild Helena U. Zacharias

Metabolic state and disease

Wilken Boie in a laboratory

In his doctoral thesis, agricultural scientist Wilken Boie is researching the prevalence of certain species of fungus in arable soils and the potential for improving the soil microbiome in the interest of plant health.

Cable in water

Enormous freshwater reserves which have so far hardly been researched lie beneath the ocean floors. An interdisciplinary project under the umbrella of Kiel Marine Science brings together the expertise to explore them.

Two persons in neoprene suits on the beach

Never seen before in Kiel – and a rarity across the German university landscape as a whole: with its new interdisciplinary Master School of Marine Sciences (iMSMS), Kiel University has created its first degree programme to incorporate all eight faculties.

Man holding his stomach

Major success for inflammation research in Kiel: a treatment approach developed at the CAU against chronic bowel inflammation is also effective and well tolerated in humans in the first clinical trial.

Pills

Finding the most fast-working and effective drugs possible to help combat COVID-19: this is the primary aim of the study published by Dr Ruwen Böhm and other researchers in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology.

Man with movie clap on stage

To date, many project seminars in the Master's degree programme in Musicology have already attracted eager listeners. Now, the small Institute of Music at Kiel University has made a big splash, with a concert that has turned into a film due to the coronavirus. The result is much more than just music captured on film.

Another volume is added to the Brahms complete edition: Kiel-based musicologist Dr Johannes Behr in collaboration with Professor Ulrich Tadday of the University of Bremen have published the Song of Triumph (Triumphlied) op. 55. A minor sensation was the starting point of the joint project.

Siegel der Universität Kiel

unizeit Schriftzug
Porträt

Viel Vergnügen bei der Lektüre der unizeit wünscht Ihnen Ihre Universitätspräsidentin Simone Fulda.

Boot mit Geflüchteten

Miteinander zu reden, Geschichten zu erzählen ist ein Urbedürfnis der Menschheit. Denn es weckt in uns Gefühle – positive wie negative. Das nutzt der Rechtspopulismus für seine Zwecke. Ein Symposium an der Kieler Universität ergründete, wie Erzählungen in der Politik auch durch Gefühle wirken.

Rapsfeld und Solarpanele

Nachhaltigkeit gehört zu den großen Themen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Mehr denn je ringen Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft heute um einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit begrenzten Ressourcen. Warum Nachhaltigkeitspolitik in erster Linie eine ethische Frage ist, und welche Rolle die Pandemie spielen könnte, erklärt der Philosophieprofessor und Ethiker Konrad Ott.

Weidende Kuh

Die Weidehaltung von Milchkühen kann ein wichtiger Baustein für die nachhaltige Milcherzeugung sein. In puncto Produktivität und Wirtschaftlichkeit ist sie eine echte Alternative zu anderen Haltungsformen.

Probenentnahme aus einem Fluss

Eine nachhaltigere Zukunft mitgestalten – aber wie? Ein Weg dorthin kann ein Masterstudium sein, zum Beispiel der englischsprachige Studiengang Environmental Management an der Kieler School of Sustainability.

Zwei Hummeln auf einer Blüte

Schülerinnen und Schüler begeben sich mit Kescher und Lupe auf Entdeckungstour durch Gras und Blumen. Mit dieser Aktion beteiligt sich die Kieler Forschungswerkstatt am Naturschutzprojekt »Blütenbunt-Insektenreich«.

Vizepräsident Eckhard Quandt im Gespräch

Ein anspruchsvolles Programm hat sich Professor Eckhard Quandt, seit Oktober 2020 Vizepräsident für Forschung, Transfer, Digitalisierung und wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur an der CAU, für seine Amtszeit vorgenommen. Im Interview mit der unizeit blickt er auf aktuelle Prozesse.

Axel Koch

Betreuung und Beratung für Kooperationsprojekte mit Unternehmen sowie deren finanzielle und administrative Abwicklung aus einer Hand: Die Uni GmbH an der CAU soll eine Dienstleister an der Schnittstelle zwischen Forschung und Wirtschaft werden.

Glühbirne

Wie innovativ ist Deutschland? Jahr für Jahr sucht eine sechsköpfige Sachverständigenkommission mit Kieler Beteiligung Antworten auf diese Frage und überreicht der Bundeskanzlerin ein Gutachten, das mit vielen Vorschlägen gespickt ist. Gar nicht so wenige davon werden sogar übernommen.

Simulation

Ob Solarzellen, Sensoren oder Speicherelemente: Materialien mit ganz neuen Eigenschaften könnten Zukunftsbereiche von erneuerbaren Energien über Biowissenschaften bis zu Quantencomputern vorantreiben. Die Physikerin Nahid Talebi will dafür nötige Spezialmikroskope entwickeln.

Altes Kloster

Kirchliche Archive gehören zu den zuverlässigsten historischen Quellen überhaupt. Dennoch ist es harte Arbeit, ausgerechnet die Geschichte von Klöstern zu erkunden. Das Historische Seminar macht sich jetzt zum zweiten Mal an ein solches Mammutprojekt.

Frau bohrt an Deckenbalken

In aufwändiger Kleinarbeit erfasst die Dendrochronologin Lisa Shindo Jahresringe von historischen Holzbalken und Möbeln, um deren Alter und Herkunft sowie die ökologischen und klimatischen Verhältnisse der Vergangenheit in der Region herauszufinden.

Wahlplakate

Parteien setzen im Wahlkampf nicht nur auf politische Inhalte, sondern auch auf Bilder. Diese sollen das Image der Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten – dank der damit verbundenen Emotionen – in eine bestimmte Richtung lenken. Forschende der Kieler Universität haben genau hingeschaut.

Drei Menschen arbeiten zusammen

Was macht ein erfolgreiches Team aus? Zweifellos sind es viele Faktoren. Zumindest bei projektbezogener Arbeitsweise spielt aber die Fähigkeit zu Veränderung offenbar eine entscheidende Rolle. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt eine Studie unter Federführung von Professorin Claudia Buengeler vom Institut für Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Uni Kiel.

Portraitbild Christine Böhmer

Evolution der Wirbelsäule

Portraitbild Martin Furholt

Urgeschichtliche Gesellschaften

Portraitbild Kathrin Kirsch

Musik im historischen Umfeld

Portraitbild Wolfgang von Gahlen-Hoops

Lehren und Lernen von Pflege

Portraitbild Helena U. Zacharias

Stoffwechselzustand und Krankheit

Wilken Boie

Der Agrarwissenschaftler Wilken Boie erforscht in seiner Doktorarbeit das Vorkommen von bestimmten Pilzarten in Ackerböden und die Möglichkeiten, das Bodenmikrobiom im Sinne der Pflanzengesundheit zu optimieren.

Kabel im Wasser

Unter dem Meeresboden liegen enorme Süßwasservorkommen, die bisher nur wenig erforscht sind. Ein interdisziplinäres Projekt unter dem Dach von Kiel Marine Science bündelt die Expertisen zu deren Erkundung.

Zwei Personen in Neopren-Anzügen am Strand

In Kiel gab es das noch nie: Mit ihrer neuen interdisciplinary Master School of Marine Sciences (iMSMS) schafft die Christian-Albrechts-Universität erstmals ein Bildungsangebot, in das sich alle acht Fakultäten einbringen.

Mann hält sich den Bauch

Großer Erfolg für die Entzündungsforschung in Kiel: Ein an der CAU entwickelter Behandlungsansatz gegen chronische Entzündungen im Darm ist auch in der ersten klinischen Prüfung beim Menschen wirksam und gut verträglich.

Medikamente

Möglichst schnell und effizient Medikamente ausfindig machen, die gegen COVID-19 helfen: Dieses Ziel stand im Fokus der Studie, die Dr. Ruwen Böhm zusammen mit anderen Forschenden im British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology publiziert hat.

Mann mit Filmklappe auf Konzertbühne

Schon so manches Projektseminar im Masterstudiengang Musikwissenschaft hat im wörtlichen Sinn viel Gehör gefunden. Mit einem Konzert, das aus der Corona-Not heraus zum Film geworden ist, setzte das kleine Institut der Uni Kiel aber nun einen großen Akzent. Heraus kam viel mehr als bloß ins Bild gesetzte Musik.

Die Brahms-Gesamtausgabe ist um einen Band reicher: Der Kieler Musikwissenschaftler Dr. Johannes Behr hat zusammen mit Professor Ulrich Tadday von der Universität Bremen das Triumphlied op. 55 herausgegeben. Ausgangspunkt der gemeinsamen Arbeit war eine kleine Sensation.

Siegel der Universität Kiel

unizeit-Suche:

In den unizeit-Ausgaben 27-93 suchen