Winners of the Interdisciplinary Innovation Challenge honoured

© Julia Siekmann, Uni KielRainer Adelung (links) als Sprecher der Networked-Matter-Forschungsinitiative und Kai Rossnagel als KiNSIS-Sprecher überreichen Urkunden für Gewinnergruppen der Networked-Matter-Challenge wie Nahid Talebi.

Strengthening interdisciplinary, innovative ideas or already started projects from the thematic area of "Networked Matter" was the goal of the "Interdisciplinary Innovation Challenge", launched in spring 2022. A team of scientists of Kiel University and partners could apply for up to 10,000 euros to start an innovative project idea, carry out preliminary work for one's own funding proposals or get into contact with other working groups. The prerequisite was that the team had to be interdisciplinary and include at least one early career researcher.

Those who even achieved an accepted paper or a filed patent after only one year could also look forward to a "fine wine" - privately sponsored, of course. At the end of the funding period, five projects with successfully published results received a certificate and a prize. Rainer Adelung, Networked Matter, and Kai Rossnagel for the KiNSIS Board, handed over the awards at the KiNSIS general meeting on 16 June.


  • Unravelling the role of topology and symmetry in emerging topological photonics functionalities
    Dr. Masoud Taleb, Prof. Dr. Nahid Talebi (both Physics), Prof. Dr. Steffen Börm (Scientific Computing), Prof. Dr. Ralf Köhl (Mathematics)
  • Minimum Stress Charging Strategy for Silicon Microwire Anode Based Batteries
    Dr. Hamzeh Beiranvand (Power Electronics), Prof. Dr. Stephan Wulfinghoff (Computional Materials Science), Dr. Sandra Hansen (Material Sciences)
  • Dynamically REconFIgurable NEtwork based on Smart Transformer (REFINE)
    Dr.-Ing. Marius Langwasser, Dr.-Ing. Hrishikesan Vadakkedath Madhavan (both Power Electronics), Prof. Dr. Ralf Köhl (Mathematics), Prof. Dr. Anand Srivastav (Mathematics)
  • Imaging dynamic networks in stimuli responsive hydrogels
    Dr. Berit Zeller Plumhoff (Applied Mathematics), Dr. Fabian Schütt (Material Science)
  • Stochastic modeling for estimation of particle size distributions in spray drying processes
    Dr. Alexander Schaum (Automation and Contro), Prof. Dr. Regina Scherließ (Pharmacy)