Currently the priority research area Kiel Life Science (KLS) at Kiel University comprises six faculties, 40 departments and roughly 130 scientific members. In addition to researchers from the three founding faculties of Medicine, Mathematics and Natural Sciences and Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences, KLS also includes members of the faculties of Arts and Humanities, Engineering and Business, Economics and Social Sciences. Together, these researchers represent a comprehensive spectrum of scientific expertise which is further broadened by strong interactions with external partner institutions. Thus cooperation across disciplinary borders is encouraged to advance life science research in Kiel. A written application must be made for membership in the priority research area, on approval it remains effective for five years.


    There are two types of membership:

    • Full members are generally tenured professors directing joint projects:
    • Research group leaders, private lecturers (“Privatdozenten”) and post-doctoral scientists can apply for an associated membership of the priority research area.
    © Christian Urban, Kiel University