Steering Committee

Comprised of members from all faculties participating in the Kiel Marine Science (KMS) research focus area, the Steering Committee is responsible for organisational leadership. The Director is the spokesperson for the Committee. Along with representatives of the faculties, the body is supported by the expertise of scientists from participating institutions and platforms, who perform an advisory function.

Prof. Sebastian Krastel (Director)Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Prof. Ruth Schmitz‐StreitFaculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Prof. Katrin RehdanzFaculty of Business, Economic and Social Science
Prof. Alexa KlettnerFaculty of Medicine
Prof. Olaf LandsiedelFaculty of Engineering
Prof. Marie‐Catherine RiekhofFaculty of Agricultural and Nutritional Science
Prof. Konrad OttFaculty of Philosophy
Prof. Florian BeckerFaculty of Law
Prof. Roberto MayerlePermanent Guest, FTZ (Büsum)
Prof. Thorsten ReuschPermanent Guest, GEOMAR

Scientific Advisory Board

Research and knowledge transfer activities are regularly evaluated and supported by a Scientific Advisory Board. The Board advises the Steering Committee and the university leadership on the future strategic direction of Kiel Marine Science (KMS). The body is comprised of internationally renowned researchers and experts in fields relevant to knowledge transfer or training and careers.

Dr. Thorsten Blenckner (seit 2022)Stockholm Resilience Centre, Sweden
Prof. Claire MM Gachon (seit 2022)Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle CNRS, France
Prof. Wolfgang HessUniversity of Freiburg, Germany
Dr. Per Knutsson (seit 2022)University of Gothenburg, School of Global Studies, Sweden
Dr. Gerd KrausThünen‐Institut für Seefischerei, Bremerhaven, Germany
Prof. Vera van Lancker (seit 2019)Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences, Brussels, Belgium
Prof. Bernd Lennartz (seit 2019)University of Rostock, Germany
Prof. Michelle Portman (seit 2019)Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
Prof. Martin Quaas (seit 2022)German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv), Leipzig
Prof. Yoshifumi TanakaUniversity of Copenhagen, Denmark
Dr. Olivier Thébaud

IFREMER, Plouzané Cedex, France

bis 2021 
Dr. Sally BrownBournemouth University, UK
Prof. Gabriele GerlachCarl von Ossietzky Universität, Oldenburg, Germany
Prof. Harald HeinrichsLeuphania Universität Lüneburg, Germany
Prof. Reinhold SchneiderTU Berlin, Germany