University Board of Trustees

The University Board of Trustees is a group that is close to the idea of a university in general and to Kiel University in particular. The Board supports and advises Kiel University in its further development, especially in its regional significance.

Members of the Board of Trustees are personalities from politics, business, culture, and society. The trustees are called upon to strengthen Kiel University in its size and profile, and to form alliances within politics and society for its promotion.

The Board builds bridges from academia to the non-academic world, intensifies the mutual exchange of Kiel University within the region and establishes new networks so that Kiel University can even better fulfil its responsibility as the only comprehensive and state university in Schleswig-Holstein. In this way, the board also strengthens Schleswig-Holstein as a region for science and education.

According to the basic rules of Kiel University, the University Board proposes the members of the Board of Trustees. They shall be appointed by the University Senate for a term of five years. Membership of the board is bound to the person elected.

Lydia Bahn


Lydia Bahn, mathematician, is co-founder and managing director of assono GmbH. She is involved in volunteer work and is chairwoman of the Ostholstein-Plön Business Association and the Support Association of the Faculty of Engineering at Kiel University.

Dr. Niels Bunzen


Niels Bunzen is managing partner of NGEG Norddeutsche Grundstücksentwicklungsgesellschaft mbH and sole director of the Damp Foundation. He previously worked for the hospital operator Damp Holding AG, most recently as a member of the board.

Stefanie Gollasch

© Ulf Dahl

Stefanie Gollasch is editor-in-chief of the Kieler Nachrichten. A native of Hanover, Gollasch studied journalism in Münster and has held several management positions at the Madsack Media Group, including RedaktionsNetzwerk Deutschland.

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Grenz

Thorsten Grenz is a graduate of Kiel University, has held management positions in various companies for many years and is now active as a supervisory board member, consultant and investor. He is also an honorary professor at the Institute of Business Administration at Kiel University.

Knud Hansen (Chairman)


Knud Hansen is managing partner of Sport Holding GmbH Kiel and acting president of the Kiel Chamber of Commerce and Industry. On a voluntary basis, he is committed to the education of young people and to the transfer between scientific and business communities.

Dr. Christian Kuhnt

© Rouven Steinke

Christian Kuhnt studied musicology in Frankfurt on the Main and Hamburg. He has been Director of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival since October 2013.

Dr. Inez Linke


The marine biologist is co-founder and managing partner of the Kiel-based oceanBASIS GmbH, which stands for sustainable research, extraction and product development based on marine active ingredients and has developed the maritime natural cosmetic Oceanwell.

Simone Menne


After holding various positions in Germany and abroad, Simone Menne was Chief Financial Officer of the Lufthansa Group and at Boehringer Ingelheim. She is a member of the supervisory boards of Henkel and Deutsche Post DHL, among others, runs an art gallery in Kiel and is president of the American Chamber of Commerce in Germany e.V..

Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Frederik Paulsen


Frederik Paulsen is Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Directors of Ferring Holding S.A. He studied at the Universities of Kiel and Lund. Paulsen holds a Ph.D. from the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris.

Christoph, Prince of Schleswig-Holstein

The Head of the House of Schleswig-Holstein has a degree in agricultural engineering and headed the family business from 1980 to 2019. He is chairman of the supervisory board and founder of GLC AG and is involved in the Louisenlund and Glücksburg Castle foundations, among others.

Ingeborg, Princess of Schleswig-Holstein

Ingeborg, Princess of Schleswig-Holstein is an artist who exhibits her work in galleries and museums around the world. In addition to art, she is committed to the education of young people. She is chairwoman of the Louisenlund Foundation and a member of the advisory board of the Heraeus Education Foundation.


Hans-Jürgen Rösler


Hans-Jürgen Rösler is the founder and managing director of EUROCON Ewoldt & Rösler Consultants GmbH. His volunteer activities include The Bay Areas e.V. and the Studien- und Fördergesellschaft der Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wirtschaft e.V..

Dr. Martin Skaruppe


Martin Skaruppe has been on the board of Förde Sparkasse since 2002. Since 2014, he has been president of the Schleswig-Holstein University Society, which organizes around 450 lectures by Kiel University professors at around 50 locations in Schleswig-Holstein each year.

Angelika Volquartz


Angelika Volquartz is the mayor off duty of the city of Kiel. She is a founding member and honorary chairwoman of the University Board of Trustees and an honorary citizen of Kiel University.

Peter Wenzel

Peter Wenzel has been with CITTI Handelsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG for more than 30 years and has been the company's managing director since 1996. A native of Kiel, he holds a law degree from Kiel University and is committed to the science and business location of Kiel.